Spotlight 2022

Rethinking the Impact of Art - Clima ARTivists Wanted!

For the second edition of Clima Now Spotlight, we were looking for artists who rethink the impact of art, use it to develop solutions against climate change and actively involve people from the population in the art project.

Clima Now Spotlight 2022 took place on 6 October 2023 at the schwarzescafé of Löwenbräukunst in Zurich. Three winning projects were selected and an audience award was presented.

The winning projects 2022

Winner Audience Award

Wie wenig ist genug Tour wins the Audience Award!
You have determined this winner! Via SMS voting on the evening of the Pitch Night, you showed who convinced you the most.

Prize Money & Horizon Programme

The Prize

The three first-place winners received a total of 175,000 Swiss francs in funding for their art project. The Audience Award is endowed with 15,000 Swiss francs.
All finalists were given the opportunity to participate in our Horizon Support Programme. From January to September 2023, the artists will be guided and supported in the realisation of their idea. The Horizon Programme is realised by our partners One Planet Lab and the Impact Hub Zurich.

All project ideas

Wall of Fame 2022

TRACING IPCC
Spotlight 2022
0

TRACING IPCC

Mushroom Hub
Spotlight 2022
0

Mushroom Hub

PET// MONSTER
Spotlight 2022
0

PET// MONSTER

futur²
Spotlight 2022
0

futur²

The Jury 2022

Portrait of Lori Spector
Lori Spector Auction House Phillips

Lori Spector is Regional Director for Switzerland at auction house Phillips. Prior, she worked as a private art advisor and dealer living between Zurich and New York, specialising in 20th century and contemporary art. Lori spent the early part of her career in the Impressionist and Modern Art Department at Christie’s New York. She then moved to Phillips in 2000 first as a Specialist and later a Senior Director before becoming its Regional Director in 2019. In 2004, Lori established Lori Spector Fine Art, Inc. (LSFA) where she advises international clients and is a member of various museum associations.

Portrait of Gesa Schneider
Gesa Schneider Literaturhaus ZĂĽrich

Gesa Schneider has been director of the Literaturhaus ZĂĽrich since 2013. From 2015 to 2018 she was co-director of the Museum Strauhof. After completing her PhD on Kafka and photography, she was project manager at Heller Enterprises from 2006 to 2013 and lecturer in image theory at F+F Zurich from 2008 to 2013.

She prefers to deal with questions around the representation of the present in word and image - or dreams of alternative life models on distant planets that could be reached via wormholes.

Picture by Ayse Yavas

Portrait of Hayat ErdoÄźan
Hayat ErdoÄźan Theater Neumarkt

Hayat Erdoğan is a lecturer, dramaturge and curator. She works as a freelance curator, including at Cabaret Voltaire, and as an author. In 2015, she began doctoral studies in philosophy with Prof. Dr. Robert Pfaller. Since the 2019/20 season, she has been co-director and dramaturg at Theater Neumarkt. Since she is lecturer 2010 at the Zurich University of the Arts. She was a research fellow of the James Joyce Foundation in Zurich and Trieste, worked as an interpreter and translator, led artistic, research projects between London and Hong Kong and was a commission member of, among others, the Theaterförderung Stadt Zürich.

Picture by Flavio Karrer

Portrait of Dorothea Strauss
Dorothea Strauss Curator & Consultant

Dorothea Strauss is a curator and transformation expert. She has been working on the subject of art as an incubator for social change processes since the mid-1990s. After managing various institutions in Germany and Switzerland, such as Haus Konstruktiv in Zurich, she established a department for social and future engagement at the cooperative Mobiliar insurance company. In 2013, she launched the «Art & Sustainability» exhibition series there, among other things.

Portrait of Martin Meili
Martin Meili Chairman of the Foundation Board Clima Now

In 1970, as an exchange student in the USA, Martin Meili took part on the first Earth Day and was already confronted with the problems of climate change and the "point of no return". With his commitment to Clima Now, he wants to ensure that suitable solutions are finally promoted, and proper measures are taken.

Portrait of Franziska Heidenreich
Franziska Heidenreich Foundation Council Clima Now and Team Leader myclimate

Franziska Heidenreich was a member of the executive board of the myclimate foundation and head of carbon offset projects for more than 10 years and now builds programs for bilateral carbon offset for myclimate. Franziska has been active in the green start-up scene for a long time - including as a long-time jury member for Greenstart, the accelerator program from the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund. She holds a bachelor's degree in International Relations, a master's degree in Environmental Science, and a postgraduate degree in Development Policy.

Portrait of Li Zhenzhua
Li Zhenzhua Curator, producer, writer and artist

Li Zhenhua has been active in the artistic field since 1996, his practice mainly concerning curation, art creation, and project management. Since 2010 he has been the nominator for the Summer Academy at the Zentrum Paul Klee Bern (Switzerland), as well as for The Prix Pictet (Switzerland). Since 2013, he has curated the film sector of Art Basel Hong Kong. Li is a member, consultant and producer of international art and film projects. He lives in Zurich and Shanghai.

Picture by Jack Zhang

Our Spotlight Partner 2022

Logo of «Die Löwenbräukunst»

Die Löwenbräukunst

The Löwenbräukunst-Areal is a unique art center in the Zurich West district. Where beer was once brewed, there are now museums, galleries, publishing houses, art and cultural foundations, an art escape room and a restaurant. The offer of contemporary art includes exhibition and collection presentations, events and symposia, mediation, promotion and research activities on topics relevant to the times.

Logo of «One Planet Lab»

One Planet Lab

One Planet Lab designs and shows paths to the world of tomorrow. Towards a future in which we only consume as many resources as our planet can provide. To go this path, people find support at One Planet Lab. Through knowledge and networking, pioneers are helped to implement and develop projects.

Logo of «Impact Hub Zurich»

Impact Hub Zurich

The Impact Hub Zurich is part of a global innovation network for social entrepreneurs, working towards the achievement of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through co-working spaces, events, community and support programs.

With climate and circular economy as two of the main themes for programs and partnerships (e.g. Circular Economy Incubator, Climate Forum, Climathon), Impact Hub connects and inspires engaged citizens and entrepreneurial people from different backgrounds in Zurich and around the world to bring their energy and talent to achieving the climate goals.

Join us!

Would you like to be informed about the new Spotlight? Sign up for our newsletter!

Spotlight 2022

Rethinking the Impact of Art - Clima ARTivists Wanted!

FĂŒr die zweite Edition von Clima Now Spotlight, suchten wir KĂŒnstler*innen, welche die Wirkung von Kunst neu denken, mit ihr Lösungen gegen den Klimawandel entwickeln und Menschen aus der Bevölkerung aktiv in das Kunstprojekt miteinbeziehen.

Clima Now Spotlight 2022 fand am 6. Oktober 2023 im schwarzescafĂ© von LöwenbrĂ€ukunst in ZĂŒrich statt. Es wurden drei Gewinnerprojekte gekĂŒrt und ein Publikumspreis verliehen.

Die Gewinnerprojekte 2022

Gewinner Publikumspreis

Wie wenig ist genug Tour gewinnt den Publikumspreis!
Diesen Gewinner habt ihr bestimmt! Per SMS-Voting am Abend der Pitch Night habt ihr gezeigt, wer euch am meisten ĂŒberzeugt hat.

Preisgeld & Horizon Programm

Der Gewinn

Die drei Erstplatzierten erhielten insgesamt 175'000 Franken Finanzierung fĂŒr ihr Kunstprojekt. Der Publikumspreis ist mit 15'000 Franken dotiert.
Alle Finalist*innen bekamen die Möglichkeit bei unserem Horizon Support Programm dabei zu sein. Von Januar bis September 2023 werden die KĂŒnstler*innen in der Umsetzung ihrer Idee beleitet und unterstĂŒtzt. Das Horizon Programm wird von unseren Partnern One Planet Lab und dem Impact Hub ZĂŒrich realisiert.

Alle Projekte in der Übersicht

Wall of Fame 2022

Die Jury 2022

Portrait von Lori Spector
Lori Spector Auktionshaus Phillips

Lori Spector ist Regionaldirektorin fĂŒr die Schweiz beim Auktionshaus Phillips. Zuvor war sie als private Kunstberaterin und -hĂ€ndlerin tĂ€tig und lebte zwischen ZĂŒrich und New York. Den Anfang ihrer Karriere verbrachte sie in der Abteilung fĂŒr impressionistische und moderne Kunst bei Christie's New York. Im Jahr 2000 wechselte sie zu Phillips, wo sie zunĂ€chst als Specialist und spĂ€ter als Senior Director tĂ€tig war, bevor sie 2019 die Leitung fĂŒr die Schweiz ĂŒbernahm. Im Jahr 2004 grĂŒndete Lori ausserdem Spector Fine Art, Inc. (LSFA), wo sie internationale Kunden berĂ€t und ist Mitglied bei unterschiedlichen Museumsvereinigungen.

Portrait von Gesa Schneider
Gesa Schneider Literaturhaus ZĂŒrich

Gesa Schneider leitet seit 2013 das Literaturhaus ZĂŒrich. Von 2015 bis 2018 war sie Co-Leiterin des Museums Strauhof. Nach ihrer Promotion ĂŒber Kafka und Fotografie war sie von 2006 bis 2013 Projektleiterin bei Heller Enterprises und von 2008 bis 2013 Dozentin fĂŒr Bildtheorie an der F+F ZĂŒrich.

Sie beschĂ€ftigt sich am liebsten mit Fragen rund um die Darstellung der Gegenwart in Wort und Bild – oder trĂ€umt von alternativen Lebensmodellen auf fernen Planeten, die ĂŒber Wurmlöcher zu erreichen wĂ€ren.

Foto von Ayse Yavas

Portrait von Hayat Erdoğan
Hayat Erdoğan Theater Neumarkt

Hayat Erdoğan ist Dozentin, Dramaturgin und Kuratorin. Sie arbeitet als freie Kuratorin, u. a. im Cabaret Voltaire, und als Autorin. 2015 begann sie ein Promotionsstudium in Philosophie bei Prof. Dr. Robert Pfaller. Seit der Spielzeit 2019/20 ist sie Co-Direktorin und Dramaturgin am Theater Neumarkt. Seit ist sie Dozentin 2010 an der ZĂŒrcher Hochschule der KĂŒnste. Sie war Forschungsstipendiatin der James Joyce Stiftung in ZĂŒrich und Triest, arbeitete als Dolmetscherin und Übersetzerin, leitete kĂŒnstlerische, forschende Projekte zwischen London und Hong Kong und war Kommissionsmitglied u. a. der Theaterförderung Stadt ZĂŒrich.

Foto von Flavio Karrer

Portrait von Dorothea Strauss
Dorothea Strauss Kuratorin & Beraterin

Dorothea Strauss ist Kuratorin und Transformationsexpertin. Sie beschĂ€ftigt sich bereits seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre mit dem Thema Kunst als Inkubator fĂŒr gesellschaftliche VerĂ€nderungsprozesse. Nachdem sie verschiedene Institutionen in Deutschland und der Schweiz geleitet hat, wie das Haus Konstruktiv in ZĂŒrich, baute sie bei der genossenschaftlichen Mobiliar Versicherung eine Abteilung fĂŒr Gesellschafts- und Zukunftsengagement auf. 2013 rief sie dort u.a. die Ausstellungsreihe «Kunst & Nachhaltigkeit» in Leben.

Portrait von Martin Meili
Martin Meili StiftungsratsprÀsident Clima Now

Martin Meili nahm 1970 als AustauschschĂŒler in den USA am erstmals stattfindenden Earth Day teil und wurde schon damals mit der Problematik von Klimawandel und «point of no return» konfrontiert. Mit seinem Engagement bei Clima Now möchte er bewirken, dass endlich taugliche Lösungen gefördert und angemessene Massnahmen ergriffen werden.

Portrait von Franziska Heidenreich
Franziska Heidenreich StiftungsrÀtin Clima Now und Teamleiterin myclimate

Franziska Heidenreich war ĂŒber 10 Jahre Mitglied der GeschĂ€ftsleitung der Stiftung myclimate und Bereichsleiterin Klimaschutzprojekte und baut nun fĂŒr myclimate Programme fĂŒr den bilateralen Klimaschutz auf. Franziska bewegt sich schon lange in der grĂŒnen Start-Up-Szene – u.a. als langjĂ€hriges Jurymitglied bei Greenstart, das Acceleratorprogramm vom Österreichischen Klima- und Energiefonds. Sie hat einen Bachelor in Internationalen Beziehungen, einen Master in Umweltwissenschaften sowie einen Postgrad-Abschluss in Entwicklungspolitik.

Portrait von Li Zhenzhua
Li Zhenzhua Kurator, Produzent, Schriftsteller und KĂŒnstler

Li Zhenhua ist seit 1996 kĂŒnstlerisch tĂ€tig und beschĂ€ftigt sich hauptsĂ€chlich mit Kuration, Kreation und Projektmanagement. Seit 2010 ist er Nominator fĂŒr die Sommerakademie am Zentrum Paul Klee Bern (Schweiz) sowie fĂŒr den Prix Pictet (Schweiz). Seit 2013 kuratiert er den Filmbereich der Art Basel Hong Kong. Li ist Mitglied, Berater und Produzent von internationalen Kunst- und Film-Projekten. Er lebt in ZĂŒrich und Shanghai.

Foto von Jack Zhang

Unsere Spotlight Partner 2022

Logo von «Die LöwenbrÀukunst»

Die LöwenbrÀukunst

Das LöwenbrĂ€ukunst-Areal ist ein einzigartiges Kunstzentrum im Stadtteil ZĂŒrich-West. Wo einst Bier gebraut wurde, befinden sich heute Museen, Galerien, VerlagshĂ€user, Kunst- und Kulturstiftungen, ein art escape room sowie ein Gastrobetrieb. Das Angebot an zeitgenössischer Kunst umfasst Ausstellungs- und SammlungsprĂ€sentationen, Veranstaltungen und Symposien, Vermittlungs-, Förder- und ResearchaktivitĂ€ten zu zeitrelevanten Themen.

Logo von «One Planet Lab»

One Planet Lab

One Planet Lab gestaltet und zeigt Wege in die Welt von morgen auf. Hin zu einer Zukunft, in der wir nur noch so viele Ressourcen verbrauchen, wie unser Planet zur VerfĂŒgung stellen kann. Um diesen Weg zu gehen, finden Menschen bei One Planet Lab UnterstĂŒtzung. Mit Wissen und Vernetzung wird Pionieren geholfen, ihre Projekte in die Tat umzusetzen und weiterzuentwickeln.

Logo von «Impact Hub ZĂŒrich»

Impact Hub ZĂŒrich

Der Impact Hub ZĂŒrich ist Teil ein globales Innovationsnetzwerk fĂŒr soziale Unternehmer*innen, der mit Co-Working-Spaces, Events sowie Community- und UnterstĂŒtzungsprogramme an der Erreichung der UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) arbeitet.

Mit Klima und Kreislaufwirtschaft als zwei der Hauptthemen fĂŒr Programme und Partnerschaften (zB. Circular Economy Inkubator, Klimaforum, Climathon), verbindet und inspiriert der Impact Hub in ZĂŒrich und weltweit engagierte BĂŒrger*innen und unternehmerisch denkende Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund dabei, ihre Energie und ihr Talent in die Erreichung der Klimaziele einzubringen.

Mach mit!

Möchtest du informiert werden zum neuen Spotlight? Trag dich ein fĂŒr unseren Newsletter!